Out like a lamb

The old saying goes that if March comes in like a lion, it will leave like a lamb. Here we are mid-month and March has already dumped recorded snows. Now today, we have high winds and heavy rain.

The rain is melting the snow away, but it is going to cause flooding. Our barn floor is already under water. Partly because of the broken roof on part of it and partly because the ground has a down hill slope that leads right into the barn. It is a nasty mess every where you try to take a step. Snow build up here, ice over there and mud in all the drives and walk areas. I managed to get drenched through this morning while working on chores too.

One thing though….I don’t regret or wish things were any different. Some people go spend a hundred bucks on shower heads so when they take showers it’s like standing in a rain storm. Me…I just step outside! Conservation at it’s finest. 🙂 All kidding aside, the one thing I really wish different is that someone could turn up the heat on the water falling from the heavens just a little. Then again, there is nothing like a cold shower to wake you right up in the morning!

I will be posting another blog later today. Since yesterday was my step-daughter’s birthday and the only thing she wanted was an old-school cheesecake. I have decided to share an old fashioned recipe that I have made in the past.

One thing I do want to make known, I use old school recipes that are loaded full of fats and whole milks. You remember…the recipes your Grandma used back when she made goodies. I am sorry but there is nothing like a good ol’ homemade pie crust made with lard instead of the processed junk we buy in a can to use (shortening). If I ever do use shortening, especially for pie crusts, I use the butter flavor Crisco. And…Paula from Paula’s Home Cooking Show is my fav! I love to listen to her talk and ohhhh does she savor the taste of the foods she cooks. Now you know what I act like when I fix something really good to eat…I just don’t have that southern drawl! I do love food!

Since I will be posting recipes, I will make sure to note variations that can be used to reduce the fat content. And I will also note for those people who are lactose intolerant or just can’t have milk like me some alternatives that I have tried and seemed to work well.

I am off to get some paperwork accomplished and work on securing a contract for the biomass right now. Hope that you are all sitting in the sun, soaking up the sunshine and thinking of sending some our way soon! God Bless.

Leave a Reply

