Busy Busy

Things have been hectic to say the least. Spring time is always a busy time. This year is worse than most due to fallen barn roof and weather that can’t make up it’s mind.

We have been working on getting things cleaned up inside the barns from a winter of freezing weather. The bedding pack for the cows needs to be picked out and removed for the compost pile. We also need to clean up the areas where the round bales sat this winter…with no feeder mind you. There are also rocks that need to move out of the lawn/mowed areas because of the snow plow. Fence posts that need to be put back in the ground. A barn wall that needs to be releveled. The list goes on and on.

Of course there is also the unending list of things that need to be done for the biomass business. Right now I am working on setting up meetings for local sustainability within our region, very specifically for the heating industry. I work hard to develop models that have fuel stock flexibility. As long as the product is locally sourced, it makes me happy. It isn’t an easy job and requires a ton of research and then even more time spent on development. In the long run, all of my hard work and dedication will be for the best within my neighborhood and community and will be able to be passed along to other areas.

I never thought that I would take agriculture to this next level, but now that I am working in this sector of the industry, I can’t ever imagine myself doing anything else. And so every one knows, it isn’t about the money. It’s about doing what is right, not only for me, but for everyone. I am excited and glad that I have had the skills given to me through life lessons that have made this an important part of my life. I am excited that I can now use all of this knowledge to assist other people with their energy needs, when crisis always looms on the horizon!

Leave a Reply

