Summer’s Gone and So Is Fall

Well, the title about sums it up! Hard to believe that we are into November already! We still haven’t completed the addition on the barn either and I am sure that snow isn’t too far out in the forecast!

This fall turned into a slow brewing nightmare. Corn harvest still isn’t done on some of the fields because they are just too wet! Nothing like trying to get a chopper into a mud pit! Only got stuck once with the tractor but that was definately more than needed to happen.

Trying to keep up with harvest while building a ten foot addition down the full 72 foot length of our barn has not worked out so well. We got the poles in the ground, the roofing on and a new water system put in but that’s about the extent of what we have managed to complete so far.

Our herd has expanded yet again too! We now have three calves here. One bull calf that already has a group of girls to spend next summer at pasture with and two lineback/jersey cross heifers! Along with those three additions, there have also been three Dexter cattle added to our mix! I will post photos in our photo page as soon as I get some time. Our jersey rescue cow is looking good and we are awaiting the arrival of her calf! The vet was WAY off his estimates when he preg checked her…by nearly two and a half months!!!! We have been anxiously waiting too…mostly because it will be the first calf born on the farm in 25 years!!!!

Two of our steers went to the butcher shop last weekend…I miss them but I do like to eat. They were well cared for when they were here and raised with the intention that they also had a purpose.

Our young group of chickens are doing well. They have moved into a temporary hut shelter until the barn addition is completed and they are loving their barn yard! A few have started laying eggs but we still are not keeping up with the local demand for our eggs! We are selling around 15 dozen eggs a week now!!!! Everyone who buys from us keeps telling us that these are the best eggs they have ever had! Makes me happy to know that how we treat our animals here shows through!

I (Doreen) have been working more on spending time doing social media things too. Sometimes it is difficult to keep up with a new business, a farm (which really is another business) and just life in general. You can find our facebook page for the biomass happenings at and on twitter! I have my own account through twitter too…CNYFarmGirl! I know I am not as informative or as busy within the ag industry as some others are…but I do ask some good questions and have some thoughts about things on ag.
Right now, one of my newest questions: Are cows better off today with regard to animal welfare than they were 20 yr ago? Please give reasons on why or why not.
I am gonna talk more about that very soon! Hope everyone has a great day…time for me to head back to the barn!

4 thoughts on “Summer’s Gone and So Is Fall”

  1. Doreen, So nice to read your post. It was every bit as good as this hot cup of coffee keeping me warm this morning. Thank you for that ;). I have only just begun the dreaming process of farming. A new-bean you could say. I took possession of this 3 1/2 acre 4 bedroom home in late September so its still so fresh. I can see the reminiscent garden tapered out in the yard it looks to have been a couple of years since it has been tilled. So Fall tilling is in order. I have been working on a livestock fence with my husband and must say it is hard work but very rewarding. I bought a drum com poster the other day and am embarrassed to day it brought me to tears.There is nothing like the feeling of being inspired. I find myself in tears of appreciation quite often. A breeze can pass by and I feel it welling up inside of me then – there I go again. LOL. I feel a bit over whelmed when I try and imagine all that I need to do before I can actually begin doing what I would like to do. But then I stop and tell myself all good thing come to those who get up early in the morning and do what needs to be done one day at a time. Before I know it I’ll be full swing and doing what comes natural. You are an inspiration. I look forward to reading your updates.
    Much Love and Light
    Tina known as tinylittleredhen….

    1. Tina, getting started is tough. Once you get started, its sometimes difficult to stop. I work a lot, don’t have much extra time but I sure wouldn’t change anything about a single thing I do. I really do enjoy life as it is for me right now!

      1. Doreen, I know exactly what you are talking about. Although it has slowed down a bit we have been going going going since before we got the keys to this house. We would get up early and fall into bed somewhere in the AM hours then back up still dark outside.Let me remind you I still don’t have animals yet! This has just been the preparation for the move and then the move. One house being leased and the other being painted and things repaired so we could move in. I decided to keep the house in town and lease it out so its been tough taking care of this house and the other one. But we are now moved in and the tenants are all moved in. wheeew! Now we can focus on the fence and barn. I would like to get a couple of goats before December and would love some chickens but am thinking the spring may be a better time to introduce chickens into a new coop. What do you think? I am looking into a coop now but can wait for the chickens. I figured I would start out with like 6 pullets. I want them for eggs and pets for now not meat , at least not yet. I would also like to get Silkies to raise but once I have gotten the hang of being the caregiver of layers. You know it doesn’t feel like work at the end of the day does it? Its like the labor is forgotten and only what was accomplished is remembered. Yes the bones hurt and the muscles ache , but thats mainly because being a house wife in the city is not very physically demanding. I would say its more mentally demanding which takes a tole on the physical. Now there is less stress and more physical demand and truly it is more adaptable. Had I known though, that this life style needed to be trained for I would have started at least a year ago!!! I am exhausted. At 220 lbs I can see I am in for some good exercise and no time for excuses. There is a great balance in how things are done if one truly looks at it from the right perspective. Its a give and receive life style. I absolutely love it!
        Well the kids are off to school and there is laundry to be done so I had better get to doin. Have a wonderfully blessed day.
        Much love and light…
        Tina

      2. It takes a bit to get everything ready…but done properly it makes it so much easier for when the animals are actually there. I don’t have goats anymore. Used to in my younger years. 🙂 Not that I am that old now. They were good to have around and I have considered getting another couple of them for weed control in the pasture. Chickens will do well in a new area anytime of the year, but my recommendation is to wait until around April and get little ones. Our last batch we ordered from Murray’s and they did extremely well. I usually keep them in the house for two weeks that way they live in a controlled environment with no temperature spikes. I clean the litter in the bottom every morning and top dress in the evenings. Then I usually put them right into their “house” with just a regular lightbulb and them them in their until they show extreme interest in going outside. Only then will I open the door to let them freerange. I have had great success in doing this method and have never had an issue with a hen or rooster not returning to the house at night. We do lock them in every night. We have a big coyote problem here! When the days start getting shorter, I also have a light hanging in their house. They need the extra hours of light to stay in egg production and it also heats my area for them during the winter months. Six is a good number to start with. I am up to 47 right now…but I sell every egg that is layed on this farm to my neighboors who keep telling me these are the best eggs they have every had!
        To go a step further, I do not fence in my chickens other than the first two-four weeks of their outside experiences. After that, they are allowed to go where they want…which is usually the pasture to scratch around in the cow manure for left over grain and bugs. I do give them free choice water and laying mash in their coop. I also give them about 1/2 cup of my own mix of scratch grain each in the mornings when I let them out of their house. I also have a feed full of oyster shells off to the side that they pick into when they wish. I don’t buy special treats like waxworms or anything like that. Most of their diet consists of bugs and worms in the spring, summer and fall. Only in winter do they eat heavily on layer mash.
        I raise my birds as pets, to produce eggs but I also cycle them out at around two years of age when their egg production starts to drop. I typically order a batch of 24-26 little ones each spring and butch off approximately the same amount each fall when the new group have started laying.
        Hard to believe but I know what you mean about the weight issue. In 1998, I tipped the scales at 225 lbs. myself. I discovered that I actually don’t absorb enough vitamin A from my food and have to take supplements. After the supplements, I started dropping weight like crazy and have been down around 140-145 for 10 years. The biggest reason why I got back into farming was because then I have control over what goes into the production of my food. I was diagnosed with MS about four years ago and I really have to watch eating foods with growth hormones. It really made me change my thought process about where my food comes from and how it’s treated along the way!
        In turn, farming keeps me fit and active. No rest for the weary! Always something that has to be done, should be done or needs to get done! I have to say…I really do love my life as it is now though!

Leave a Reply

