Kitchen Takeover – Apple Pie

I seem to have retaken my kitchen back…and I couldn’t be happier.

I love to cook…although if you ask Mr. Farmer, he said I can’t cook. Mean, grumpy old man that he is! 🙂

I do need to admit that typically, I may look at recipes…but I rarely follow them. I honestly can’t tell you why I own measuring cups and spoons. They are pretty hanging on the wall in my kitchen, since they are stainless.

Since everyone is harrassing me around here lately about what I do with my apple pie (which even those OLD folks love), I thought I would walk you through the making of my apple pie (which some of it I actually used measuring cups and spoons for).

The beginnings of crust

I still use my Grandma’s old recipe (with a small variation) for making pies.

A double crust:
2-1/2 cups flour
3/4 cups butter flavored shortening (gran used lard)
6-7 tbs. of cold water
Blend flour and shortening to look like photo. I use a pastry blender. Sprinkle water over mixture, 1 tsp. at a time mixing with a fork until it starts to hold together. Add just enough water  so mixture holds together when gently pressed into a ball. *Important note: too much water will make the crust flat and not enough water will leave it too dry and you will have problems with it breaking apart while rolling.

I usually through the whole ball into the fridge for about 15-20 minutes. After that, I divide the dough into two balls (one slightly bigger than the other) and roll out onto a well floured surface until it is about 3″ bigger than my deep pie dish. I roll the crust onto my rolling pin and lay over the top. Since my dish already has a scalloped edge, I just trip with a butter knife.

Next is to mix the filling ingredients. Since I live in a state that is one of the largest apple producers in the country, I buy only NY state apples.

NY Apples

I don’t ever recommend specific varieties. I usually use one softer variety with one harder variety of apple.

Today, I used Gala and Empire varieties.

 

 

 

Apple wedges

I then peel and wedge the apples. I don’t add any lemon to keep them from browning…who cares once they are cooked and I don’t like the flavor the lemon adds to the pie.

And yes…I do still hand cut all of the pieces. I like the difference in sizes it creates.

 

I then start adding the spices.

Just cover the top in Cinnamon
A pinch or two of Nutmeg
Mostly cover with sugar-about two cups

 

 

 

 

I also add in a dash or two of mint (shhhh…don’t tell anyone my secret ingredient)

Mixed together
Pour into bottom crust
Add a couple of dabs of butter, cover with remaining crust

 

 

 

 

 

Coat with BUTTER, wrap edges in foil to prevent burning

Bake for 425 for 10 minutes, reduce heat to 30-40 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

