Farm Shows

Well, on Friday, Mr. Farmer and I attended the NY Farm Show in Syracuse, NY. I spent my morning listening through a seminar on gas leasing and the information research gathered through three individuals across the state.

Once I was done taking my notes (which will be used for next weeks edition of a Lancaster Farming article) I got to spend some time walking around and chatting with some different people.

First stop…….the youth food booth for a cup of hot coffee! Then it was on to look at the new Jaylor Mixers! We have been thinking about getting one of these to use as our herd expands. It was nice to actually stand on one, see the size of it in person and ask some questions. We are looking at the self propelled unit, which should provide a Total Mixed Ration (TMR) in enough quantity to feed all of our upcoming herd. It is the only mini-mixer with a steel tub, not a poly tub.

The next stop was to start looking at different mixtures for seedings for our new pasture mixes. We found three that are shelf-ready and two that would have to be custom mixed. We are going to be looking through these mixes now with the nutrienist to make sure that which ever one we use for our intensive grazing during the summer months will have the proper balance for our herd of Jersey cows.

Then it was on to look at some of the corn seeds that are coming online and have been referred to us by one of our contacts at Cornell. . . I will post more on this as time comes.

I had a great conversation with Chris Fesko about what she is doing and she informed me that she has planned her first open house of the year again this year for Mother’s Day weekend. I encourage you to take time reading about what she is doing and maybe even booking some time to go spend a day on her farm.

Then it was off to talk with the great folks who farm and sell their milk through Agrimark. Agri-Mark farmers take pride in their Cabot and McCadam products and have the toughest milk quality standards in the market. Now that sounds like a group I can get involved with. Quality over quantity! Sounds good to me!

Then it was off to talk fencing….phew boy are there a ton of options out there! Time for me to put a bunch of thought into what we are going to do. Five strand high tensile is looking better everyday with some extremely high voltage around the perimeter fencing……….More on this coming soon!

We also got to see my Canadian friend Jasmin from Energrow Inc. too! She is so much fun to talk to and I love seeing her. Her and I could have a ton of fun together if we lived closer together. But all kidding aside…you all really need to go take a look at their machinery that turns soybeans and other oil based crops into oil and meal. This is a must have piece of machinery as we move forward with our expansions….AND I can’t wait to get it!

There was plenty more to see and do…but I think the funniest and most serious thing I saw was the Farm Show poll on how the attendees would vote for the current canidates for president.

image

Leave a Reply

