Farewell my friend

Sometimes, farming is one of the most difficult things. One of our newest additions has been sick. Unfortunately, that’s one of the risks when you purchase an animal from a sale barn. You never know what kind of contaminents they will pick up. This especially holds true for calves since their immune systems are not developed.

It is a difficult thing to handle, even though you KNOW there is the potential. I hate it. I hate seeing an animal suffer. It all began three days ago and I think I have slept maybe twelve hours during the whole time. I am tired and he is just progressively getting worse. No matter what we have done or tried…nothing has helped. To make matters worse, he has somehow developed bloat along with scours. He has been medically treated. And still he slowly slides downhill.

These are the times when I really wish that farming was easy. Mr. Farmer is frustrated with me. Let’s just say it’s because I get emotional. It’s almost like I can feel their pain, their suffering and it kills me inside. I will go without sleep, without food, without a shower just to make sure that a calf gets proper treatment. To me, it is my duty to make sure I can do everything within my ability to take care of them. I am their guardian, their protector, it is my responsibility.

Most people would never devote the amount of time I do in an attempt to save an animal. And I get flack all the time for it too. I know that sometimes it is better to not let the animal suffer (which is the point we are at now) and assist them with passing into the pearly gates of heaven and into the never ending pastures of green to frolic in the morning sun…but I believe in fighting for their cherished life with every beat of my heart. When they do have to go, I shed tears just like most would for a beloved family member who has also gone to those same pearly gates. Is it right? For me it is. I am an emotional, feeling person. It’s how I cope with loss.

I hate writing posts like these. I HATE losing animals. I just want all animals to have a fair shot at life. To be able to experience running and playing with their buddies in the pasture. To feel the sunlight on their skin as the sun comes up in the morning. Yes, my little TBone did get to experience those things, yet it has been so brief it seems unfair.

I will miss him dearly. Now, I need to go say my goodbyes and let him go to a better place where there is no pain and no suffering.

Farewell TBone
2 thoughts on “Farewell my friend”

  1. This was a lovely post, and I just wanted to write you to let you know that you aren’t alone and that you should always see this empathy towards animals as a strength and not a weakness. Even though it makes our lives difficult, I believe it is important that we never lose that part of ourselves. I am going to leave this quote here that I think sums it up beautifully:

    “Being tender and open is beautiful. As a woman, I feel continually shhh’ed. Too sensitive. Too mushy. Too wishy washy. Don’t let someone steal your tenderness. Don’t allow the coldness and fear of others to tarnish your perfectly vulnerable beating heart. Nothing is more powerful than allowing yourself to truly be affected by things. Whether it’s a song, a stranger, a mountain, a rain drop, a tea kettle, an article, a sentence, a footstep, feel it all – look around you. All of this is for you. Take it and have gratitude. Give it and feel love.”

    I hope that as time goes by I can continue to be as tender, passionate, and caring as you continue to be.

    1. Thank you for the quote. I have been told so many times by so many people that I am over emotional and a cry baby. Everything touches me one way or another…it makes me happy and yes, sometimes even sad but it still changes me inside. It just makes me more emotional and more caring for some reason.
      I am a surrogate mother to many…and not just animals either. I give everyone and everything 100% of my heart, 100% of the time. Some say I am continually setting myself up for disaster but it’s who I am, what makes my heart beat every day, it’s my soul.
      I too wish that others had the same kind of empathy toward animals, especially young calves. Without proper care from the very beginning it makes it that much more difficult for them to survive. It breaks my heart to see the needless suffering due to ignorance and arrogance.
      Maybe someday we can all live in a utopia where all things are treated with the respect they deserve……

Leave a Reply

