Damn Weather

At some point, maybe…well, hopefully sometime before July…the weather will straighten out and we can get our 30 acres of forage grasses planted. Every time it seems like the ground is just getting dry enough to plant, it rains again and then we have to wait another 3-4 days. UGGGG

It is maddening. Especially considering we have so many other things going on right now too. Meetings and more meetings about our regional energy sustainability are slowly driving me insane. I have sat through so many of these now that I have lost count. That doesn’t include the multiple coordination phone calls and emails in between. Maybe someday this will all get easier as more people within the area become informed and knowledgeable about bioenergy. For some reason though, it seems like you have to constantly repeat the same information 1,000 times before anyone seems to grasp the basic concept of energy and energy demands.

Thank goodness for the two “working” highlights in my life! Y’all have no idea how relaxing it is to work with stubborn cows with attitude! These Jersey cattle kids are all head strong that’s for sure. Belle, the worst of the bunch, has to be nosy and “chat it up” with each and every animal here on the farm, including those pesky chickens! She has befriended one of the Dexters so much now that they are inseparable. They are always together now.

The calves are both doing extremely well and growing fast. Tommy, our newest addition, certainly has a ton of spunk. It is comical to watch him run round and round the pasture, which takes him about 10 times around before he decides to slow down. Him and Chuck are both buddy pals. We attempted to separate them at night but all Tommy did was bawl and bawl some more so now they are housed together at night. It’s working well and makes me feel good knowing that they are enjoying each others company that much. Just points out to me that I think all calves need to be raised in pairs!

We are still awaiting the arrival of Dexter calves…they are bagging up beautifully and are show lots of signs of being uncomfortable. The calves are large enough now within the womb that you can see their Mother’s bellies roll around when they start moving. I love sitting out in the pasture watching those moments! Makes me miss being pregnant but not enough to have another child. It’s just one of those amazing moments I feel blessed enough to share!

Our heifers are getting close to breeding time and big decisions will need to be made soon on just what semen we will be using. I don’t think I have put this much thought into a decision in a very long time. I have talked with my cousin, who just happens to be a semen distributor, about what my best options would be. Needless to say, for someone who is as picky as I am about how I want my Jerseys to turn out…it just made matters worse! Some how I will choose and in the meantime, I am getting very proficient in reading sire reports! Haha

Speaking of sires and genelogy, I had a great time at the New York Spring Jersey Sale this weekend. Lots of beautiful Jerseys that I really wish I could have brought home with me…but, they were selling for more than I am comfortable paying right now! 😦 Isn’t that sad? I just wanted to bring home one or two but all of the ones I had picked out when for much higher than my budget will allow. Made some really good contacts for the summer months though. Meet folks from Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania and even Maine. I loved it! People who actually understand the language I talk!

image
Jersey girls after their trip through the sale ring!

So, back to this weather.. All of this rain has us behind on mowing the lawn but, the pasture is growing well. I am thinking I need to get some fencing around my yard and use it for calves!!! Could you imagine the UPS or FedEx guys pulling in and having to go through electric fence to deliver? The one who drives for FedEx wouldn’t be the issue…he grew up around here and is actually from the same small town I am. I still think it would be great though…maybe it would keep some of the goofy people away!!!

Nice thought but I doubt it would work. Speaking of goofy people…I need to get my butt in gear! Lots to do today and hopefully some great events that will mean more to me than anything in the world!!!! Only time will tell!

Leave a Reply

