Time to Garden

I am excited to say that now it’s time for us to shift into the gardening mode! We are running about a week or so behind but we will still be good for the stuff we plant on growing days.

Yesterday we picked up about 1/2 of our tomato plants. Typically, we plant 36-42 Roma tomato plants. When they bear fruit, we make sauce and more sauce. There is nothing like a huge pot of sauce simmering on the stove! The smell is one of the best in the world!!! Then we plant plum tomatoes for using fresh in salads but the majority of them will be peeled and make into stewed tomatoes!

We also plant peppers to freeze and to use in our sauce. We upgraded from just three plants last time to six this time. I might even attempt to get some additional ones that aren’t just the green ones this year too. I think I need some yellows and reds in the freezers too!

Last time we did tomatoes, we ended up with 32 quart jars of sauce and 21 quart jars of stewed tomatoes! For the two of us, that’s enough to last about a year and a half! Oh, I do love to can! Every time I walk to the pantry, it gives me such a sense of pride knowing that we planted, grew and harvested that delicious portion of our food!

We will also be planting cucumbers for pickles, squash, watermelon, peas, carrots, radishes, potatoes, lettuce, spinach, beets, hot peppers, eggplant, cauliflower, pumpkins, two types of squash, and probably a few I have forgotten.

I have my herb garden started. The chives in the raised bed outside my front door are HUGE! The green onions that are in the same bed are also growing well and have been since February…which is unheard of in NY! I picked up my parsley, rosemary, mint and thyme yesterday. Now I just need to get my basil seeds planted and see what else I can find! 🙂 I am actually thinking of planting a bunch of lavender to place in all of the house windows…wouldn’t that smell great as the breeze comes through during the summer! Then we can’t forget the dill, cilantro, coriander, fennel, majoram, oregano and sage!!! I am slowly working on building up an herb garden. I really want to be able to supply ALL of my own! I will get there, at some point!

Any way, I am off now to go in search of more plants and then to work getting the garden all planted today! BTW…did I tell you our garden measures about 50 feet long by about 25 feet wide! Our composted manure is all tilled in and sits there waiting for us to get moving!!! Photos to follow soon!

Leave a Reply

