Friday Surprise

Yes, I know….It’s Sunday but, I haven’t really had time to sit down and think about writing  since Friday morning.

That morning, I went out to do my morning chores and while gathering up our milk cow out of the pasture, I noticed that one of the Dexter’s was missing. The other two laid up on the diversion ditch with their calves, relaxing in the early morning sun.

I figured I would do my morning chores of milking and feeding and then once I turned Belle, our Jersey cow, back out into the pasture, I would take a walk through the wet grass to find out how Minnie, our smallest Dexter, was doing.

So after chores, I turned Belle back into the pasture paddock. By this time, all of the Dexters had disappeared from sight. Down over the small hill I go. As I crest the top to the point where I can see the lower end of the paddock…I see one, two, three black Dexters and next to them: one, two and oh wait…what’s that dark lump right there in the tall grass?

THREE CALVES!!! Our last and final calf was born! We haven’t been running too good on our stats for female calves, otherwise known as heifers. I was excited and couldn’t wait to see if it was a girl…I walk next to them. The mother was fine with me being there as long as I didn’t bend down or squat but finally…I got to check! IT’S A GIRL!  With a big Woo-hoo whoop, I managed to scare the calf and her mother…but all settled down quickly.

Here are some photos of our precious girl and only heifer calf of the Dexter clan!

Our newest addition!
Momma! Wait for me!!!
Mini-Me (aka MeMe) compared to Mr. Farmer’s hand
Here is the first image captured of our little girl~
Leave a Reply

