Make It Monday ~ Dog Toys

No farm is complete without a dog. Well, we now have three. Two are older dogs but the third is a 14 week old pup that we just added into the mix on Friday.

I would like everyone to meet Brandy.

Hi y'all! My name is Brandy! I'm a 14 week old bloodhound puppy.
Hi y’all! My name is Brandy! I’m a 14 week old bloodhound puppy.

If you follow me on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter you would have seen that we have said her name was Honey. Here’s the real scope: When she came on Friday, her previous owner called her Vi, short for Vilula. After hours of attempting to get any type of response, other than her running the opposite direction, we went to another name that had been mentioned, Honey. She did respond…about 1 out of every 15 attempts, if that.  After reviewing all of the paperwork that came with her, we noticed that at the top of the original sheets there was a name of Brandy with a number.

At this point, before confusing her anymore, I reached out to the original seller and asked about this. I was informed that she had been called Brandy and pup-pup. I also learned that her favorite treats were bits of string cheese. I had really wanted to respect the lady that I had gotten her from with the name but when a stubborn hound (and bloodhounds are at the top of that list) refuses to listen, you need to show them a little respect and try to work with the dog.

Bloodhounds are a great breed but they are far from perfect. They are stubborn to a fault and already have issues with selective hearing. Having issues with a name just compounds matters and they just refuse to comprehend. Think ultra selective hearing.

We also needed to begin acclimating her to us. This is where our Make It Monday comes in! Hounds primarily use their sense of smell, especially bloodhounds. They can track smells that are a day old, lingering for miles in a matter of minutes. Knowing this is how hounds operate, I decided it was time to do a little crafting. Puppy loves toys, so I started thinking and researching ways to incorporate a few of our old clothes into something useful.

We had just gone through some of Rich’s old jeans that were ripped beyond repair. I knew I had a couple of old tshirts. I had some fiberfill floating around. Grabbing a piece of paper, 8-1/2 x 11″, I folded it in half long ways and then in half again. I cut the end of the bone first. Much like you would cut a paper heart, just stop about halfway to the point. Then I cut straight from their toward the fold. When you unfold, you have a perfect symmetrical bone shape!

Now that I had a template, I traced along the edge of the paper onto a piece of blue jean leg, placing the seam in the center.  I did this to strengthen the point in the loops at the end of the bone shape. After cutting that out, I repeated the process onto a piece of t-shirt. I cut that out and pinned the two pieces together back to back.

Starting at one of the loops, I sewed around the end of the bone, along the flat side, and then around the opposite end. I stopped sewing before the second flat section. Once the thread was secured, I turned the material inside out and stuffed with the fiberfill. I then pinned the flat side and hand sewed it shut. Project complete.

IMG_3450.JPG

Brandy loves her new toy and carries it with her all over the place. She even slept with it last night. She now has a favorite treat that smells like we do. If I had wanted to get really fancy, I could have embroidered her name of it but I have a feeling it will be shredded before the end of November.

 

Leave a Reply

