Make It Monday ~ Pumpkin Muffins

Last Friday, I decided to make some pumpkin muffins. Rich’s family planted a whole field of pumpkins this year and some were rather small. I took a couple of them and made puree from scratch.

I just cut it up into chunks, removed the innards and baked on a rack in the oven at 350 until the pumpkin “meat” was nice and soft. I also find that if you add a little water to the pan, it prevents everything from drying out too much.

Once I removed the skin by scoping the pumpkin off with a spoon, I reserved everything into a bowl. While it cooled, I started looking up some recipes online. I happened to stumble across this one: Pumpkin Muffins and decided I would give it a try with some slight alterations.

Instead of adding in pumpkin puree and water, I assumed (yeah, I know…shame on me) they were using canned pumpkin which is much thicker. Instead, I decided that since the homemade puree was a little more watery I would just add 3 cups of pumpkin. In addition to this, I also added 1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon.

Everyone who had any gave rave reviews. They were moist and very flavorful. I will be making more in the very near future. I may even try some with cheese cake frosting too.

When you open the link, you will find all sorts of alterations that can be done as well. If you make some, feel free to share your results!

IMG_3482.JPG

Leave a Reply

